1859 Republican and Democrat County Tickets

An article appearing in the Johnson County Democrat, July 19, 1883, listing the 1859 Republican and Democrat county tickets.

Transcribed by Maureen K. Reed, May 1, 1997

The following is the first Republican county ticket ever nominated in Johnson county, the election being held in November, 1859: For Representatives, Col. J. E. Hayes of Olathe, and Dr. Scott of Shawnee; County Treasurer, Elias Mason of Lexington; County Clerk, J. M. Hadley, of Monticello; Sheriff, Jos. Gamble, of Shawnee; Register of Deeds, B. P. Noteman, of Olathe; Supt. of Public Instruction, C. Storrs; County Attorney, William Holmes, of Shawnee.  The canvass was lively, but the Democrats won by a nice majority, with the following ticket: Representatives, L. S. Cornwall of Olathe, and Chas. Simms of Spring Hill; Treasurer, A. B. Squires; County Clerk, S. B. Myrick; Register of Deeds, J. H. Blake; Sheriff, Pat Cosgrove; County Attorney G. M. Waugh; Probate Judge, E. S. Wilkinson; County Supt. - Slaughter.

KSGenWeb County List


Click to view...

Neighboring KS Counties

Douglas Co KSGenWeb

Franklin Co KSGenWeb

Leavenworth Co KSGenWeb

Miami Co KSGenWeb

Wyandotte Co KSGenWeb

Neighboring MO Counties

Cass Co MOGenWeb

Jackson Co MOGenWeb

Kansas City MOGenWeb



Blacksheep's Meadow

BlackSheep Sunday Meme


Creative Commons License

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!